Hello Gorgeous!

Bacon. The candy of meats, I may have a huge tiny obsession. When I was in Seattle I went to Archie McPhee’s and bought bacon mints and toothpaste. They were really quite gross to be honest. I figured it’s mostly because it’s simulated bacon flavour, and not real bacon delicousness.

For years now I’ve been dying to try chocolate covered bacon. Everyone thinks I’m crazy, but I think it sounds crazy good. I’ve tried candied bacon and it was amazing. You really can’t go wrong with bacon and something sweet. It’s like dipping your bacon in syrup. Pure win!

So when I came across this recipe from NPR, I jumped at the chance to try bacon in cupcakes. I mean what’s not to like? Bacon, good. Cupcakes, good. Maple, good. Bacon maple cupcakes, gooood!

The cake itself is a strange texture in my opinion, for a cake. It’s almost like a muffin in texture, but the sweet and salty combination are such a nice change from a regular cupcake. I cut my bacon up fairly small but left it still a tiny bit chunky so you could really get a good bite of it in the cake. There’s also a lot of perfume from the bacon infused into the cake and it really adds to the whole experience.

The maple cream cheese frosting is good as well, but it’s quite sweet. I added the whole 6 cups of icing sugar that it called for but It was very dense, and I had to thin it out quite a bit before it was spreadable. I would have gone with maybe 4 cups, which would have also cut back on the sweetness.

Over all it’s a good recipe, and I’d make it again with a few tweaks. Afterall, you really can’t go wrong with bacon.

3 thoughts on “Hello Gorgeous!

  1. mmm…. bacon!

    Those sound really good. There is a diner out here (started as street vendor) that has burgers with bacon jam. So good, can’t describe it. Combo of sweet and savory bacon goodness. Not sure if the sell it up there, but highly recommended (and expensive)!

Leave a Reply

