Adventures With Ben

I’ve known my friend Ben for close to ten years, but we had never met. Let me explain. I’m part of a fantastic group of people on a message board that’s been around for ten years in August. I joined maybe six months after it was founded, and Ben came along not long after me. I unfortunately had to leave when we moved, and found my way back after a couple of years absence.

A lot of people have met up here and there, mainly living in the US, and a few in Canada, but I’ve never had the chance to meet anyone before. As soon as plans were made to go to Seattle I immediately contacted Ben and asked if he wanted to meet up at some point. I was so excited when he said yes!

We decided to meet for lunch in Bellevue, near his office. Twi-Whore and I showed up and it was a surreal experience meeting him for the first time. I was all goofy grins and awkward hellos. He’s an old pro at meeting people from the board so this was nothing new for him.

When we finally decided on where to go for lunch, (a pub) he introduced me to his mom, and showed me photos of his family, and the properties his company owns, which was really cool.

Lunch was delicious and surprisingly not awkward. It felt like we were old friends (which we were) and hung out all the time. He gave us directions on how to get to Kurt Cobain’s memorial bench (more on that another time) and I gave him a bag full of chips, which he was all excited for. We decided to meet again on Friday at the zoo and spend the afternoon together.

The zoo was so fun. I always forget how much I love going to the zoo, and it’s a good place to go if you’re a bit socially awkward like I tend to be at times.

We got to the gorillas exhibit, and one of them regurgitated it’s lunch into it’s hand right in front of us, and decided to eat it up again. So gross!

Ben was mean and made me go into the bug exhibit. I was so disgusted and terrified that I held my hand and arm over my face the entire time and made a mad rush to get out of there. Not nice.

The komodo dragon was HUGE! I’ve never seen one in person and when it stuck its tongue out it made Ben jump. Twi-Whore and I laughed at him.

By the time we were done, I’d had such a nice visit with him, the conversation flowed easily and I felt like I could joke and laugh at him like I do everyone else. We took a photo of us together to document it and prove each other is really real. He’s a private person so in respect to his wishes I won’t post it here, but I will post another photo I have.

2 thoughts on “Adventures With Ben

  1. OMG I love it, LOVE IT. I feel like I was there with you!!!
    The photo, after saying there would be no photo was the cherry on top! He shaved. And you, look at you…wOw.

Leave a Reply

