Twilight Tuesday

Starting a new fic is like a new friendship, it’s a bit awkward, somewhat exciting and you never know where it’ll lead. Usually you develop a great friendship, and with a bit of give and take, you end up with a new friend. Sometimes you may not like certain things, but you get past them to see the big picture.

On the other hand, sometimes it starts out with great promise only to find out twenty-something chapters in, it’s not what you were expecting and takes a turn for the worst. Like that friend that seems great to begin with and is there for you when you need them, sometimes, and is always there to call you when they need a friend, they start to wear thin. Finally they make you question the friendship. Maybe you stop calling them, or they stop calling you, and if and when you do talk, finally, it’s awkward and full of uncomfortable silences. Things are not what you thought they were going to be.

Sometimes a fic that starts out great and has so much promise, takes a sudden or even gradual turn for the worse. That’s the point where you wonder if you should keep soldiering on and finish it, like a true friend would, or flounce, like the jaded person you’ve become, who’s taken as much as you can stand and won’t take any more.

Lately, that has been me. One fic I read not too long ago, started out with a great beginning and almost half way into it, started to take a weird twist. I thought, ok, this might be alright, and I kept reading. I was almost 3/4 through when it just went from weird to awful. It was completed so I just decided to finish, and with a cliff hanger ending, it left me feeling used and dirty.

The last one I read like that was a wip. It started out strong. Even going into the 15-18th chapters it was still quite good. I had so much hope for it. Then it just flipped. She became annoying and he was whiney. Not a good combination. The endearments felt forced and the lemons weren’t written very well. Like that friend that suddenly turns on you, instead of sticking it out to see how it will end up, I flounced. I just didn’t have it in me to keep on keeping on.

 So instead of trying to sort out the toxic friends and fics, I’m moving on. My fic list is getting a detoxification. Stat.

Leave a Reply

