Twilight Tuesday

I know I’m late to the party with this, but I really wanted to give my take on the whole Wide Awake Epilogue. First of all, I love Wide Awake, it was the first fic I read, and if it ever gets published I will be one of the first people in my town to go buy it. That being said, I was a bit disappointed in the highly awaited epilogue. It’s all anyone could talk about for months now, and I think all the hype leading up to it made it have a bit of a let down.

As always it was very well written, but it just didn’t seem to have that je ne sais quoi to it. Yes they still have stuff to work through. Yes with both of their conditions it’s not going to be easy. But should she have left Elizabeth alone when Edward returned from Chicago? My answer is yes. Definitely. Edward was already moving forward and so was Bella. To bring him back to that crumpled and pained point, in my opinion, was pointless. I would have loved to see them moving forward, to see what it was like for them in college and real life. I did think it was nice however that he did take her to the cemetary to “visit” his parents and “meet” them. I think it was very realistic to do that.

The wedding with Carlisle and Esme was good add in, and the fact that Bella wanted to hug Carlisle after, and even carried it through was really great to show how far she’d come. Of course Jasper was great, even though he wasn’t in it much other than asking for a bra for a slingshot and at the wedding, and knowing that Emmett and Rose were having a baby was a nice touch.

I didn’t care much for the backhanded marriage proposal even though “it’s a given”. The gazebo was a good metaphor for their relationship though. Even though it’s not pretty sometimes, and gets weeds and things growing all over it, you can always clean it up and make it beautiful again, just like our Bella and Edward.

So even though the story is complete and finished, for me it was concluded with this sentence:

But there’d be only acceptance—never shame—in being two divine failures as we emerged from slumber, perfectly flawed, and wide awake.

To me, that is the perfect ending to a fabulous story. Thank you angstgoddess003, for your exquisite story, no matter what I, or anyone, thinks of the Epilogue.

One thought on “Twilight Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Twilight Tuesday « The Sposh Life

Leave a Reply

